Red Weiner Dog

Decorating By brnbrc2 Updated 16 Jul 2006 , 12:50pm by cindy6250

brnbrc2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brnbrc2 Posted 14 Jul 2006 , 11:00pm
post #1 of 9

Help! I'm very new to baking cakes and I need to bake a weiner dog cake for my Dad's birthday. Can someone PLEASE help me?

8 replies
cindy6250 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy6250 Posted 14 Jul 2006 , 11:11pm
post #2 of 9

Do you want to sculpt a cake to look like a dog or do you want to put a picture on top???

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 14 Jul 2006 , 11:16pm
post #3 of 9

a sketch for you:

use a long loaf pan for the body...OR if you don't have that, bake a 9x13, cut in half long ways and stack for body.
bake a sports ball cake for the head...OR bake two six inch rounds, glue together w/ BC and stand on edge.

bake a 9 inch to cut up for feet (round sections and long cut from it)

and for nose/mouth...their faces are so pointy...use a pointed ice cream cone (cut down if need be) could use two and cut parts of sides if you want mouth open and fill w/ icing to make tongue, teeth etc.

whole dog: cover in BC or fondant as you prefer.

ears: pieces of fondant cut and draped.

edited: some day..ya, right, sure...i'll learn how to type and spell!
LL

vpaz24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vpaz24 Posted 14 Jul 2006 , 11:19pm
post #4 of 9

Doug you are so creative!!!

Doug Posted 14 Jul 2006 , 11:22pm
post #5 of 9

last minute thoughts: to get circle for legs: round cookie cutter or trace soup can.

toes are just little square chunks sort of like half a twinkie size

(of course you could use ring-dings for circles and cut twinkies for toes)

you might want to curve the body a little to make it look more round...can do this by craving or building up w/ BC.

brightbrats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brightbrats Posted 14 Jul 2006 , 11:24pm
post #6 of 9

Try this web site, scroll to the bottom.I had it saved because I have a weiner dog too.