Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › How Do I? › vegan cake
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

vegan cake

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

hi everyone, 

 

iv been asked to make a vegan cake so no animal products. iv never done a cake thats vegan before but found a great recipe online now im wondering how to make the buttercream and fondant.

 

I usually use the fondant pre bought and it does say on packet suitable for vegetarians but it doesnt say anything about vegans. what would be in it thats not suitable for vegans?

 

For the buttercream thought i might use trex in uk (shortening)  but have never used this before and have only ever used butter. do i use the trex on its own with sugar and vanilla and would this be ok for the filling with jam also. 

 

i will be thankful for any info 

 

thanks 

nikki

post #2 of 6
Vegan is no animal by-products which usually include eggs and dairy, although individuals may vary on their interpretation of the term. I would definitely consult with the client on my ingredient lists. Most ahortenings and marguerites and vegetable based products would be ok. Jam filling sounds excellent too, but gives a different flavour and feel to your cake. I have substituted mazola margarine for butter in buttercream (amerrcan buttercream, no eggs) with a lot of success as well. It just doesn't firm up in the fridge as niclely as buttercream and doesn't have that awesome butter flavour. But at least it is vegan.
Good luck!

Tammy Youngerwood

Like my page! www.facebook.com/homesweethome.cakedesign

Reply

Tammy Youngerwood

Like my page! www.facebook.com/homesweethome.cakedesign

Reply
post #3 of 6

If your fondant has gelatin in it than it's not vegan.  Gelatin is made by boiling animal bones. 

 

Also sugar that is whitened by using bone char isn't vegan either.  So check your icing sugar.  You may need to contact the company or check their website.

Quinte West, Ontario, Canada   www.TeriLovesCake.ca   Strictly Wheat & Gluten-Free         

 

Reply

Quinte West, Ontario, Canada   www.TeriLovesCake.ca   Strictly Wheat & Gluten-Free         

 

Reply
post #4 of 6
Many fondants and gelatins are vegetarian these days, but I agree with the advice to check ingredients. It's usually on the packaging itself, or on a website.

Tammy Youngerwood

Like my page! www.facebook.com/homesweethome.cakedesign

Reply

Tammy Youngerwood

Like my page! www.facebook.com/homesweethome.cakedesign

Reply
post #5 of 6
Satin Ice fondant is vegan. For vegan BC we use Sweetex Z high ratio shortening (most shortening should be vegan), Earth Balance soy-based margarine, and beet sugar (which is not processed with bone char).
post #6 of 6

I made about half of my cupcakes and cakes vegan. I use Satin Ice fondant. I also have a buttercream recipe that I use that people go NUTS over. I am not kidding...vegans and carnivores LOVE it. It is from the book VEGAN CUPCAKES TAKE OVER THE WORLD. You can find it here: http://www.chow.com/recipes/10856-vegan-fluffy-buttercream-frosting

Sharon Athanasiou, Not Your Average Cupcake, https://www.facebook.com/Notyouraveragecupcake
Reply
Sharon Athanasiou, Not Your Average Cupcake, https://www.facebook.com/Notyouraveragecupcake
Reply
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: How Do I?
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › How Do I? › vegan cake