Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Cake Decorating › Edible Icing Images - are they Halal?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Edible Icing Images - are they Halal?

post #1 of 9
Thread Starter 

Please help!  I have to make a cake for a Muslim customer and everything has to be halal.  She has requested a design which incorporates either printed edible images or a bucket load of hand painting :)  Does anyone know if the Kopykake icing sheets are halal?  And what about the inks for my Canon printer - would they be halal?

Thanks in advance for any advice given and info shared.

post #2 of 9

wow--and the kopykake website is down for maintenance

 

are the ingredients listed on the package??

I was addicted to the Hokey Pokey, but I turned myself around.

 

Reply
I was addicted to the Hokey Pokey, but I turned myself around.

 

Reply
post #3 of 9

They are Kosher. When I worked at a Biggs grocery store, we had a Kosher Bakery, and Kosher Deli, and their were Muslims and Jews buying beef and rolls, side by side.

Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
post #4 of 9

Halal is a term used primarily for products that contain any type of meat/chicken etc. Also, any products that contain animal-based ingredients. I know Muslims don't eat anything containing gelating, including Jello, since gelatin can be beef or pork based.

 

I don't think icing sheets contain gelatin, so you should be fine :)

post #5 of 9
This one time I had a couple that wanted to know if my wedding cakes are halal and they demanded a list with all my cake ingredients, I just told them my cakes don't have gelatin in it and they still wanted that list so I just said no and they searched another bakery. I'm not saying everybody is like that but it is a bit risky, cause maby somebody will tell them cakes do have gelatin in it and then they will become mad at you!
Jesus loves you!
Reply
Jesus loves you!
Reply
post #6 of 9

I would be cautious about the edible ink.  If it has any form of alcohol in it, then it won't be halal.  Likewise if it has glycerin in it, because that can be extracted from either vegetable oil or animal fat. 
 

post #7 of 9
Um, it also has to be CERTIFIED Kosher or Halal. While I don't believe in that for my religion, or whatever, it is EXTREEMLY serious that you don't mess about with guessing in other people's religious customs.
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
post #8 of 9
BTW, it's not just meat, it is everything.
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
post #9 of 9
The only way to know is to contact the manufacturer. You surely won't be the first person to ask.
elsewhere.
Reply
elsewhere.
Reply
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Cake Decorating
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Cake Decorating › Edible Icing Images - are they Halal?