Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › UN dairy fillings
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

UN dairy fillings

post #1 of 21
Thread Starter 
Hello,
I need to do a cake for a friend how has allergies for milk.
What type of fillings, ganaches, creams can I use without MILK???

can I do ganache with dark chocolate with vegetable cream??
Thank you!
post #2 of 21
Try fruit fillings and dairy free buttercream using either dairy-free butter or shortening. I would expect there are at least some fondants that are dairy free. I know marzipan is so that could be an option too.
If you search for vegan fillings and frostings you should find plenty
post #3 of 21
I'd just add melted chocolate to your dairy free buttercream rather than attempt to make a dairy free ganache.
post #4 of 21
Thread Starter 
I want to try a fruit filling and a chocolate also.

Thanks for advices thumbs_up.gif
post #5 of 21
dairy-free ganache is easy. Use vegan chocolate chips and sub full fat coconut milk for the heavy cream.
post #6 of 21
Thread Starter 
it really has to be vegan chocolate chips or dark chocolate which doesn t contain milk?
post #7 of 21
my kids have dairy allergies and sometimes have reactions to dark chocolate even though it doesn't contains dairy because it's typically processed in the same area where other chocolates that do contain dairy are. Just read the label and steer clear of things that are also processed in facilities that contain dairy. Skip girhadelli. I've had sucess with whole food's store brand and enjoy life.
post #8 of 21
I thought this was about the United Nations dairy filling. icon_biggrin.gif

You mean non dairy or dairy free.

I would look into some Kosher non dairy recipes. I used to work at a Jewish catering hall and all their desserts where dairy free because they can't mix meat and dairy in the same meal.
post #9 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdovewings

I've had sucess with whole food's store brand and enjoy life.


Same here, for dairy-free orders the only safe chocolate we've found is Whole Foods vegan chocolate chips, Enjoy life chocolate chips, and Hershey Special Dark cocoa powder. For margarine we use Earth Balance soy-based margarine.
post #10 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisssa

I want to try a fruit filling and a chocolate also.

Thanks for advices thumbs_up.gif



Cocoa powder doesn't have dairy product in it.
post #11 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoFloGuy

Cocoa powder doesn't have dairy product in it.


Most manufacturers of cocoa powder process it on shared equipment with dairy, so there is a high risk of cross contamination. Hershey was the only company that confirmed they don't use shared equipment to make their cocoa powder (the Special Dark variety at least).
post #12 of 21
Thread Starter 
Thank you so much for all this infos. They are helping a lot.
He has an allergy to milk so i assume is dairy, please correct me if I am wrong, this is something NEW to me.


Thank you again!
post #13 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lisssa

He has an allergy to milk so i assume is dairy, please correct me if I am wrong, this is something NEW to me.


If he is allergic to casein (the main protein in milk) you will need to be very careful about cross-contamination. If it is lactose intolerance that's usually less severe, but in either case your best bet is going through all the ingredients you will be using and making sure he is OK with them.
post #14 of 21
What do I subsitute eggs in a recipe for non dairy recipe
post #15 of 21

Cakesrocks,  I may have completely misunderstood you, but eggs are not dairy and so would not need to be substituted for dairy-free.  Did you mean vegan?
 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Recipes
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › UN dairy fillings