Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › Help Need Recipes for Vegan Fondant by 4/14
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Help Need Recipes for Vegan Fondant by 4/14

post #1 of 14
Thread Starter 
My friends from Southern California and San Franicsco are coming to Tulsa next week. I'd like to make a cake. Anyone know 100% vegan fondant brand I can buy? Does anyone have a vegan fondant recipes to share? Thanks.

My San Franicsco friend's wife is a raw vegan. Any CC vegans share a raw cake recipe. Thanks.



Zarah
Meat Eater from Tulsa.
post #2 of 14
I don't think there is a vegan fondant. I think they all have gelatin and vegan's won't eat that.
post #3 of 14
i dont think there's vegan fondant becuz there's gelatin in fondant
*BELLY DANCER*
May Cause Fascination, A State of Desire, And Make You Want to Get Up And Dance! Grab Your Coin Belts, Veils, And Choli Tops! Its Time To Shimmy And Shake!
Reply
*BELLY DANCER*
May Cause Fascination, A State of Desire, And Make You Want to Get Up And Dance! Grab Your Coin Belts, Veils, And Choli Tops! Its Time To Shimmy And Shake!
Reply
post #4 of 14
You can use 100% vegetable gelatin like "agar"
post #5 of 14
Not all fondant contains gelatin, or even animal products like egg white or milk solids. The brand I buy is vegan.

Check around at different brands. Call the companies' customer service and ask for an ingredients list. I may be wrong, but I do believe I read somewhere that Satin Ice is vegan, but I may be wrong.

Most homemade RF recipes contain either gelatin or egg white. Agar-agar is a vegetarian gelatin substitute, but cannot be substituted measure for measure in recipes. You'll need to either find a recipe for agar-agar fondant, or develop one on your own.
post #6 of 14
The vanilla/white Satin Ice contains no animal products!
post #7 of 14
I am vegan, and have personally contacted Satin Ice, Pettinice and Choco Pan, and have been assured that none of these brands contain any animal products or derivatives. It's usually only homemade fondant (mmf) that contains gelatin.

I can not guarantee that these fondant brands are raw, however. As for the cake, you might want to try a site like http://goneraw.com/ for recipes.

I hope this is helpful!
Steph

"What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans and the homeless, whether the mad destruction is wrought under the name of totalitarianism or the holy name of liberty or democracy?" --Mahatma Gandhi
Reply
Steph

"What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans and the homeless, whether the mad destruction is wrought under the name of totalitarianism or the holy name of liberty or democracy?" --Mahatma Gandhi
Reply
post #8 of 14
I'm a STRICT vegan and the Wilton fondant is vegan (or the one I use is). I don't personally eat it because it contains hydrogenated oil (yuck). But it is vegan. (and the Wilton fondant isn't everyone's favorite, but if you're stuck, I've used it. - I won't make a cake that isn't vegan)

ALSO, I found a homemade vegan recipe on CC called "basic fondant"
ingredients are:
1 cup water,
3 cups sugar,
1/4 tsp cream of tartar.

Let me know if you'd like me to PM you the rest of the recipe.
and GOOD LUCK! icon_smile.gif
post #9 of 14
Fondex is vegan too I believe.

I found this one..

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/member/views/1246151

It uses agar-agar which you can find in most stores sometimes in the international foods asile near the japanese foods or in the natural/organic foods asile.
post #10 of 14
DD is a strict vegan. She eats Satin Ice.
Answers to the most often asked questions re: SPS. SPS instructions are on Page 15 of the Sticky at the top of the Cake Decorating Forum. Supplies can be ordered from Oasis Supply, Global or BakeryCrafts.
Reply
Answers to the most often asked questions re: SPS. SPS instructions are on Page 15 of the Sticky at the top of the Cake Decorating Forum. Supplies can be ordered from Oasis Supply, Global or BakeryCrafts.
Reply
post #11 of 14
I forgot to say that you will need to find vegan powdered sugar too because normal powdered sugar is processed through charcoal made from animal bones and some vegans wouldn't like that too much.
post #12 of 14
Most rolled fondants contain glycerin which may be derived from vegetable and animal sources (fats).

http://www.vegblog.org/archive/2005/03/15/glycerin/

Satin Ice is certified âPareveâ; however, it does not use the term âvegetable glycerinâ in the list of ingredients.

Satin Ice Ingredients:
Sugar,
corn syrup,
water,
palm oil,
natural and artificial flavor,
gum tragacanth,
titanium dioxide,
glycerine,
cellulose gum,
modified corn starch,
potassium sorbate,
acetic acid.
post #13 of 14
Satin Ice's website states that it is both vegan and kosher - problem solved!
"I used to be Snow White, but I drifted" - Mae West
Reply
"I used to be Snow White, but I drifted" - Mae West
Reply
post #14 of 14
I have a vegan cake line that is very popular. I make my own vegan fondant but in a pinch I use satin ice as it is vegan.

You can use Michelle fosters fondant recipe by substituting soy milk, rice milk, or water for the cream and using arrowroot powder instead of gelatin. And sub earth balance maragarine for the butter. Tastes exactly the same and is vegan. Only certain (usually generic) brands of granulated white sugar are filtered and whitened with bone char. You can buy vegan powdered sugar at whole foods.
Three Little Blackbirds (TLBCakes)
Reply
Three Little Blackbirds (TLBCakes)
Reply
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Recipes
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › Help Need Recipes for Vegan Fondant by 4/14