Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › Vegan MMF recipe?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Vegan MMF recipe? - Page 2

post #16 of 23
I was a strict vegan for many, many years. I eat MOSTLY a vegan diet still, but make exceptions for certain things (I can't live without cheese, and I love fish).

But even if I'm no longer vegan, most of my friends still are...and they don't know anyone else who can bust out a vegan 'chocolate' cake like I can icon_smile.gif

I have used Marshmallow Creme for making MMF in the past and it worked really well. I even used it to make about 50 roses (added a tiny bit of gumtex to it), and it held up wonderfully.

I have also had vegan marshmallows, but with the cost being a little on the pricey-side, I have never used them for making MMF.
post #17 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by beccakelly


ya the fish eaters like to call themselves "semi vegetarian" or "pesci vegetarian", but when it comes down to it, they eat fish, fish is meat (despite what the catholic church believes), and meat makes you not a vegetarian! but, i am a little biased being vegetarian myself and DH is vegan. the fish eating thing bugs me when they try to say they are vegetarian of any sort! lol. icon_wink.gif

i've tried making fondant with kosher "gelatin" (im not sure what it really is) and it was tempermental. i like buying it because its easy, and consistent, and tastes good. i can't imagine having the time to make your own mm's without the eggs, then making them into mmf!!




From what I understand, kosher gelatin is still gelatin, and it is animal derived.

I don't believe the Catholic church has ever claimed that fish is "vegetarian"... the rule about no meat on Fridays during Lent is meant as a type of penance; a small way of showing appreciation for Jesus' suffering.

Not that it applies to me - I don't eat fish either! icon_smile.gif
post #18 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudsmom


From what I understand, kosher gelatin is still gelatin, and it is animal derived.



perhaps some brands are animal derived, but the one i got wasn't, its made of vegetable gums and sugar. i checked the box. you get good at that when you shop vegan.

Quote:
Quote:

I don't believe the Catholic church has ever claimed that fish is "vegetarian"... the rule about no meat on Fridays during Lent is meant as a type of penance; a small way of showing appreciation for Jesus' suffering.




the catholic church comment was a joke
"Don't let the hand you hold, hold you down"
-anonymous


www.sweetwaterbakehouse.com
Reply
"Don't let the hand you hold, hold you down"
-anonymous


www.sweetwaterbakehouse.com
Reply
post #19 of 23
Sorry, didn't mean to be overly sensitive. I hear a lot of Catholic bashing.

What brand did you find that was vegetable derived? I've never been able to find any.
post #20 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloudsmom

Sorry, didn't mean to be overly sensitive. I hear a lot of Catholic bashing.

What brand did you find that was vegetable derived? I've never been able to find any.



i've got Kojel brand kosher/vegan "gelatin". here's a link to it:
http://www.veganstore.com/vegan-food-items/other-sweets/kojel-unflavored-gel-powder/Page_1/246.html
the stuff i have isn't diet, and i got it at a local kosher mart. but i never use it anymore, i wasn't too impressed with my fondant results with it. maybe now that i have more experience it would be easier to get right.
"Don't let the hand you hold, hold you down"
-anonymous


www.sweetwaterbakehouse.com
Reply
"Don't let the hand you hold, hold you down"
-anonymous


www.sweetwaterbakehouse.com
Reply
post #21 of 23
Thanks!!
post #22 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by beccakelly

there are different types of vegetarians, but mostly they do not eat meat. ovo veg won't eat eggs either, but will still eat dairy, lacto veg will not do dairy but will eat eggs.
edited*



This is backwards. Ovo vegetarians WILL eat eggs, and lacto vegetarians eat dairy. Ovo-lacto vegetarians eat both dairy and eggs but no meat.
post #23 of 23
Fish is not a vegetable, neither is chicken. You're either vegetarian or you're not...you can't be a "little vegetarian". In my opinion, the term vegetarian should not include eggs or dairy, etc. either since they are not vegetable based, but that is a whole other can of worms all together. And we all have a right ot our beliefs and opinions if we're respectful of other's. icon_smile.gif
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Recipes
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › Vegan MMF recipe?