Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › Vegan gumpaste or fondant recipe
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Vegan gumpaste or fondant recipe

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 
Hi there,

I'm new here, and I'm having trouble finding an eggless, gelatine-free recipe for either fondant or gumpaste. Seems most recipes rely on these, and/or some form of hydrogenated oil/shortening/margarine.

Does anyone know of any recipe that has none of these, yet works?
post #2 of 6
Many vegan sites, such as www.veganessentials.com, sell vegan gelatin alternatives. Hope that helps!
Proud Navy Veteran, Proud Navy Wife!

"I may not agree with your opinion, but I will fight to the death for your right to express it."
www.charitytroops.org
Reply
Proud Navy Veteran, Proud Navy Wife!

"I may not agree with your opinion, but I will fight to the death for your right to express it."
www.charitytroops.org
Reply
post #3 of 6
Well, it's nasty, but I'm pretty sure that the Wilton stuff is vegan, if you want to go for buying some instead of making it. I gave the ingredients list to my vegan friend, and she didn't mention anything that was against her diet.
post #4 of 6
I think I've read on here before that you can make MMF with marshmallow fluff and it is considered vegan since it doesn't have gelatin in it.
post #5 of 6
Hii!! I'm kinda vegan.... kinda vegetarian... lol... I just choose not to eat certain things including dairy and gelatin (you know... for the meat factor). Anyway... I found this recipe @ the allrecipes.com website and where it says shortening (which I try to avoid cuz of the trans fat thing) use the vegan alternative from Smart Balance (they make butter, shortening... various vegan alternatives to dairy products). I tried it the other day in my buttercream recipe and it worked out great. I tried the below recipe once before and (just like I was) it came out amateur-ish...but thats just me. Try it and let me know!!

Happy Baking!

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Rolled-Buttercream-Fondant/Detail.aspx
post #6 of 6
Most (if not all) pre-packaged fondants have no gelatin in them. I'm not sure about the other ingredients because I am not vegan and have no background in it, but I do know that Satin Ice gumpaste and fondant are labeled kosher parve. This is one of the reasons that I don't make my own - just to avoid that issue completely with customers who would not expect a frosting to contain "meat."
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Recipes
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Recipes › Vegan gumpaste or fondant recipe