Need Help With Buttercream Swirls On Cupcakes

Baking By FunkyCrunky Updated 30 Dec 2011 , 6:21pm by Jasongiddings

FunkyCrunky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FunkyCrunky Posted 21 Dec 2011 , 10:10pm
post #1 of 9

This is my first post, so please be gentle... icon_smile.gif

First of all, I'm an amateur. I mean, I can cook a great cupcake but this post is about the icing/frosting on my cupcakes. I made some basic sponge for my cupcakes with some slight recipe adjustments for flavour and moistness. I then used the below recipe for a basic buttercream icing/frosting...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/basicbuttericing_73263
Code:Ingredients
140g/5oz butter, softened
280g/10oz icing sugar
1-2 tbsp milk
few drops food colouring

Preparation method
Beat the butter in a large bowl until soft. Add half of the icing sugar and beat until smooth.
Add the remaining icing sugar and one tablespoon of the milk and beat the mixture until creamy and smooth. Beat in the milk, if necessary, to loosen the mixture.
Stir in the food colouring until well combined.I did not use liquid food colouring. I did use the gel/paste that I normally use to colour icing without making it too runny. However, for some reason, my icing still came out rather runny. I piped the buttercream onto the cupcakes and although it piped successfully, it wasn't as firm as I thought/imagined it should be and within a few minutes they did lose a slight bit of height and piping texture (sort of slumped, if that makes sense).

I didn't pipe the buttercream onto warm cupcakes, I left them to cool overnight in an airtight container so the cupcakes were at room temperature. I did use [url="http://www.bakewithstork.com/"]Stork[/url] in my buttercream rather than pure butter but then I do so in my cakes, etc and they're always great and I know of others that use it. My Stork was kept in the fridge so was chilled.

Am I using the wrong recipe for piping swirls? If not that, what else could I be doing wrong?