Cupcakes In The Mail?

Baking By kimmyboo925 Updated 2 May 2011 , 2:57am by SweetTater

kimmyboo925 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimmyboo925 Posted 9 Apr 2011 , 4:45pm
post #1 of 24

Hey had anyone ever mailed cake? I am looking to mail some cupcakes in containers with buttercream seperate. anyone have a good idea for this?

23 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 10 Apr 2011 , 4:04am
post #2 of 24

I do it like you said. I put the cupcakes on cardboard and put them in a food saver bag with wax paper on top. I stop the vacuum before the cupcakes start to smash. The icing gois in a pastry bag with instructions on where to snip the bag (draw it on the bag) and frost them themselves. Even though I am a scratch baker who uses only european buttercreams, I use ABC for this.

CupQuequito Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CupQuequito Posted 10 Apr 2011 , 4:34am
post #3 of 24

I will be shipping out to 4 different locations in the US, on Monday. They will be all set up, because I want to see how they get there, like DC cupcakes ships.. lol If they can do it, why can't we?!

KYP icon_wink.gif

scp1127 Posted 10 Apr 2011 , 7:56am
post #4 of 24

Georgetown Cupcake overnights them. They provided the cupcakes for Williams-Sonoma. It was about $25.00 in packaging. I saw it in a pictoral on a cupcake blog. Their cupcakes need to be frozen.

Just checked... $25 shipping for the first dozen, $15.00 each additional dozen.

Are these for personal use? I thought you just wanted to send some cupcakes. If you are selling them, your kitchen must be approved by the FDA. These are the highest health requirements. I constructed my bakery to meet all FDA requirements. I am just waiting for a field officer to be in my area. You can get the requirement packet from your state Dept of Ag. This is not a simple prcess.

CupQuequito Posted 10 Apr 2011 , 7:59am
post #5 of 24

I have a commercial licensed kitchen. icon_smile.gif