Fondant Pleating??

Decorating By brett9008 Updated 28 Aug 2011 , 11:50pm by bobwonderbuns

brett9008 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brett9008 Posted 8 Apr 2011 , 2:47am
post #1 of 14

i AM IN NEED OF HELP.....A family member has asked me to make her wedding cake. She then showed me a picture from Carlos" Bakery...Real icon_rolleyes.gif ly? I have done many cakes, but I am self-taught, and not great at fondant. AnywAy, this cake has lots of fondant, and a fondant pleated skirt. I need a tutorial....video...something, so I can decide on wether to take on this challenge. ALSO, how do you get the fondant to be shiny? THANKS SO MUCH

13 replies
maddy9603 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maddy9603 Posted 8 Apr 2011 , 3:12am
post #2 of 14

She has pleating on this cake. She says she just overlapped strips of fondant. Is this what you are looking for or more flowy?

http://staceyssweetshop.blogspot.com/2011/01/valentine-themed-romantic-wedding-cake.html

Chellescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chellescakes Posted 8 Apr 2011 , 11:38am
post #3 of 14

you cut even strips of fondant , an then fold over one edge place it on the cake , cover the unfolded edge with the next folded one. keep going until the cake is covered.

I use a pasta machine to roll out the icing so it is all the same thickness and it is a lot quicker .

pbhobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbhobby Posted 8 Apr 2011 , 12:16pm
post #4 of 14

brett9008, I've done this cake before. Check it out in my photos.
http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1743112
http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1885093