Tastings For Bday Cakes

Business By Lenette Updated 6 Nov 2010 , 12:59am by Kima920

Lenette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lenette Posted 27 Oct 2010 , 3:10am
post #1 of 18

I don't know what is going on lately with folks wanting a "tasting" for everything! I got a phone call today for a taste test for a sweet 16 for about 50 people and an email for a taste test for a 1st bday party!

I do want the orders but I can't do tastings for everything. I am a licensed home baker and it is just not cost or time effective for me to do this. How do you say no but still make the sale?

Maybe if they would like to order a dozen cc or something? But the order is still not likely to be big enough to take that off the order.

How do ya'll handle this?

17 replies
arcie051054 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
arcie051054 Posted 27 Oct 2010 , 3:40am
post #2 of 18

I don't know how to answer this but I am not a professional but I have done many cakes for lots of years for family and friends who have tasted my cake and they like the taste. I have not been asked for a "tasting". I would not do it especially being a home baker.

UpAt2am Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
UpAt2am Posted 27 Oct 2010 , 3:49am
post #3 of 18