What Do You Use To Decorate Your Cake Boards?

Decorating By Cargen Updated 9 Jan 2017 , 9:53pm by Frostedfantasies08

Cargen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cargen Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 1:25pm
post #1 of 33

I am still pretty new to this and trying to suck in all the information I can. As I start to make different cakes, I want to dress up my cake boards more. I usually cover them in foil and know how to cover them in fondant, but fondant is soooo expensive, so I was looking for ideas of other things I can use.

What have you done that has worked? What have you done that hasn't worked? Any of your expertise would be greatly appreciated. icon_biggrin.gif

32 replies
sweet_T7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_T7 Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 1:42pm
post #2 of 33

I have used wrapping paper covered with clear contact paper...fabric also covered in the contact. I use foil a lot too but not to big on the look

jlkallred Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlkallred Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 1:59pm
post #3 of 33

I've started trying to make my cake board small enough so that there isn't much left to see, cover it w/ the Wilton paper, then use ribbon around the edges ( I used a feather boa once and it was really cool looking!) These aren't my ideas, tho. I tried the fondant, but kept getting finger prints on it icon_sad.gif I'm excited to hear what other people do, bc the "safe" cakeboard cover is expensive, too. I hadn't tho't about contact paper~SO many smart people here on CC!!

cakeythings1961 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeythings1961 Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 1:59pm
post #4 of 33

Good question. I'd also like to know how you transport a cake that has a base decorated with fondant or BC? It seems to me that it would be impossible to pick it up & carry it with icing on the cake board. Any tips?

vagostino Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vagostino Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 2:01pm
post #5 of 33