Walk-In Refrigerators

Business By itsacake Updated 14 May 2010 , 3:55am by nancyg

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 5:01am
post #1 of 24

For those of you who have walk-ins. Do you have a de-humidifier? What advantages do you find with having one or why did you decide not to get one if you didn't.

Thanks for any experience you can share. (And why didn't thy teach this stuff at school?)

Edited to say if you don't have a walk-in but have a reach-in with a de-humidifier, I'd like to hear from you too.

23 replies
dsilbern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilbern Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 5:23am
post #2 of 24

I'm new to cake decorating but I've worked in foodservice for over a decade. I've done alot of catering where things have been prepped and set up ahead of time in the fridges.

None of the kitchens I've worked in have had de-humidifiers and the food/pastries/desserts were fine. (None were decorated cakes though.)

The reps for the companies make it sound like you can't possibly not have one. And they are pushy. I don't believe the de-humidifiers are necessary but my experience with cake decorating is pretty limited.

itsacake Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 7:23am
post #3 of 24

None of the reps I talked to offered a quote including a de-humidifier. I did bring it up with one of them. I just thought I'd seen references to them somewhere and wondered if anyone who refrigerates their fondant covered cakes has comments pro or con.

And thanks for sharing your experience, dsilbern, even if it doesn't include fondant. It is good to know what others do, in any case.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 12:27pm
post #4 of 24

Mine didn't have one. But I'm not one who refrigerates cakes. I never noticed any condensations on anything in my 'frig, though. My kitchen designer never mentioned having to have one.

heavenlys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heavenlys Posted 4 Feb 2010 , 1:08pm
post #5 of 24