Posts by BakersGuy

Hello All   I was just watching a video and heard something that made me reach for clarity from some of the most knowledgeable bakers I know!  Family I need help with this one.   Someone said to me  "Do not grease and/or flour side of cake pans," doing this will cause your cakes to NOT rise properly".   Now I am new at this and have soooo much to learn but has anyone ever heard this before?     Thanks! Bakersguy
Hey CC Family Just a quick post to see if anyone has experienced this problem. The last three cakes I made from the Duncan Hines Classic Yellow has baked up with a hard crust/shell on top of it! The cake underneath is sometimes cooked and sometimes not! It is so strange! I have calibrated my oven, used room temp ingredients, used WASC, everything I could think of. But still the same problem. My question is has anyone experience this problem and if so how did you...
Thanks a million!   I knew I could count on my CC family for the answers.
Hey CC Family   Quick question regarding the crumb coat.  I am doing a birthday cake and the cake will be a vanilla cake with pink buttercream frosting.  If my cake is going to be frosted in pink, should be my crumb coat be the same color (pink) or can I use a regular white buttercream as the crumb coat?    Not sure what to do.  Any thoughts, advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.   Thanks a million!
I don't know what I was thinking/doing or anything.  Crumbs in my frosting, left off the word day on Birthday, the writing, I don't even want to talk about! lol.  
Thanks a million scorpio1966 & ddaigle, feeling much better about this now!   I knew I could count on my CC family!