Posts by Gena575

I must need more caffeine today!  Thanks ladies for seeing what I couldn't.  I went back and forth between the two for a good 5 minutes LOL!  The seahorse I'm seeing on the side of the "center" tier must have been a smear of the icing holding the figure to the side. 
Those aren't the same cakes...the ruined cake is 3 tiers and has seahorses on it, while the original is 2 tiers with no seahorses.  I'm so confused.
Granted, I've never worked with fondant a second in my life.  Or gumpaste.  But, I've built plenty of things from other materials :)  I think I would do something similar to what Melanie above suggests, but I would use a styrofoam core for security.  I'd cut the cylinder a few inches longer than the length I wanted the can to be, then make a cut to where one piece was enough shorter than the finished can will be to provide room for the rainbow ribbon pool.  Then I'd...
K8memphis... trust me, I've got plenty of age behind me ;)  I'm just really new to the world (and science) of cake baking. I've been a yeasty girl for years...you can seriously throw whatever at yeast and it'll stick.  Cakes, well, that method doesn't work out so well I'm finding!  I'm glad to see that the addition of flour helped the other poster.  That lets me know my mind is on the right track. 
I'm probably waaaay to new to cake baking to try to start changing up recipes, but I've got a request from a friend to make a peach cupcakes.  I've got a go-to yellow cake recipe that I'd like to simply add peach puree and/or homemade peach freezer jam to.    The recipe is my adaptation of King Arthur Flour's Classic Yellow Cake 1 cup granulated sugar 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature 2 tablespoons canola oil 2 large eggs 1 tablespoon...