Posts by bammcakes

I tried to cover a 14" round in fondant. The height was about 8". Im not completely new to fondant but I am new to covering large cakes. 3 times I tried to get fondant on the cake. It ripped every time. What is the easiest way to cover larger layered cakes?
I am currently doing the same thing but for a wedding cake. One tester i went with jello instead of pudding. It made kind of a wet cake. After several tests I finally made one that I like. Even my critical taste testing mom liked it. I went by a recipe I found here on CC called Durable cake for 3D and Wedding cakes, with 3 extra ingredients. Royal blue Wilton Gel Paste, Canned blueberries (not pie filling), and lemon juice. Minus the water. For the pudding I used instant...
Anytime I've added fruit to a cake alot of the fruit floats to the top. How do you prevent that and have the fruit be through out the cake?
You made a very good point. I do need the pieces to curve around the cake. Because the pieces need to come up higher than the top I thought if I let them dry first it would be easier, so the top didn't slump over.
How long does fondant take to dry? I am cutting several shapes from rolled fondant and want to apply them around the sides of a fondant covered cake. Also, whole it is drying will the edges crack? If so, how do I prevent it?
I am making a wedding cake this weekend. One layer needs to be blue. The couple is announcing that they are having a boy. Besides just tinting the cake blue what could I do to flavor the cake a flavor that is blue that will go with chocolate?