Posts by MoniCakes7818

Hi, So I have a question, I'm an at home baker striving to do "BIG" things LOL. Anyway I usually bake my cakes in the wilton pans or equalvent and as you know those are about 2" deep I then usually tort that 2" cake and then cut it down the middle and fill etc etc. anyway I've been watching some classes on craftsy.com and noticed on one class that the instructor had 1" cakes all nice and even. She mentioned that that's how she bakes them. Now I my question is... Does...
I was wondering...... where do I find out about trade shows in my city? I live in Chicago and would love to go to one. I was told that you can buy products at a discount which would be amazing. I would assume that some are open to the public and that some are probably private. and if so how do you get on the list?   does anyone know of a website or something like that that would post this kind of information?   thanks. -Moni
haha no worries I'm loving all the feed back on everything. I too am using Satin Ice but sometimes i feel like it's too soft or prone to tare. I just ordred some Fondx so hopefully that's better. (fingers crossed).   Thank you all for the feed back on the rolling pins. I did get a little discouraged with price and don't think I can bring myself to spend $50+ on it when the one I have now is doing the trick. I am however going to try the step stool. :-)
Hi All, I was in the market for a new rolling pin. I work a lot with fondant and have been seeing a lot of "tutrial" videos that are using a "Sil-Pin" that's the silicone cover pin. I think it's super cool and would like to use it, but wanted to know if you recommend an one over the other. I'm currently using a plain wilton 20" one with no handles, but it seems like the handles would be easier to use once i have no more "arm length" LOL   Any imput would...