Posts by debbiecakes75

It definitely depends on what county you live in.  I am in west central WI and I didn't think it was very difficult to get licensed.  I contacted the Dept. of Agriculture and asked what I needed to do.  The requirements were to take a food safety class and have an inspection (pay the inspection fee).  I started out in the fall of 2012 by renting a nearby (already inspected) commercial kitchen and that location was listed on my license.  In the meantime, we built our own...
YES, YES and YES to this!   I applaud you for standing up for all of us home cake businesses. Yes, we are most definitely part of the industry and shouldn't be scorned just because we haven't taken that road and confined ourselves to a storefront 24/7! I am a home baker as well with a separate licensed kitchen. I recently responded to another thread about pricing and was accused of charging too little and was belittled for being "just" a home baker and not setting my...
In all of the wedding expos/bridal fairs that I've been a vendor at, we (and all other cake vendors) have always handed out free samples.  I'm not sure if other parts of the country are different or not, but attendees usually have to pay a fee to get in, so they expect free samples.   I use 2 oz clear containers with lids.  I quarter unfrosted cupcakes, place them into the containers, and top it with a dollop of buttercream.  I like this method because I can do it a day...
justdesserts...My layer cakes (rounds or squares), which have more layers and are much higher than my sheet cakes, are $3 - $4 per serving.  My "sheet" cakes are much less per serving, since they only have 2 thinner cake layers and 1 layer of filling.  So a 13x9 is $40, approximately $1.60 per serving.  All of the cake shops near me price their sheet cakes less per serving than their other cakes.