Posts by ChiWOWa

Hi all,Many thanks for the wonderful replies!!! I will try the additional recipes given, thanks again I finally managed to make some white chocolate modelling paste using Golden Syrup instead of light corn syrup or glucose syrup. It worked out quite well (I think...I have never seen or used bought chocolate paste) but the syrup did make the white chocolate turn "gold" lol.I will keep on trying as it seems that most people like using chocolate for modelling figures, which...
Hi all,I would like to try my hand at working with modelling chocolate and tried to make my first batch today and it was a disaster LOL I can only buy Glucose syrup here in NZ and not corn syrup as stated in ALL chocolate recipes. I guess that is why my batch was a crumbing mess The glucose syrup I buy is so thick it is almost solid (if that make sense!) what sort of consistancy (viscosity) is the corn syrup you can buy in the USA?Can I thin down the Glucose syrup with...
I am very new to cake decorating so propably not the right person to answer this LOL.However, it looks like the colour was painted on the leaves, so probably a gel colour. The lillies are not so obvious.....there is a nice gradation of colour, more so than on the ivy, so the lillies may have been coloured with petal dusts. As for which colours, I have no idea Good luck!
Hi and welcome from another newbie I just joined this site too and know almost nothing about cake decorating, other than that I love it and am already addicted!There are hundreds of tutorial in the "How Do I?" forum and "google" has become my best friend I spend half my time reading and the other half "playing" with gumpaste etc. It is a real learning curve but sooooo much fun.CheersTerry