Posts by taraedgington

Thanks again for all the help. I think my cake turned out alright. 😀
This is exactly the thread I needed, as I am making a monster high cake as well. So thank you all!!  You mentioned using a template for the skull, where do I get one, or how do I make my own? This is the part of cake decorating that gets me the most...LOL. I figured there was some secret computer program people were using to get all the awesome details and designs on the cakes. There is NO WAY I could free hand anything like it. Im far from an artist. Any and all help is...
Thank you so much for the tips! It's a beautiful cake. I'm going to be doing the stencil in hot pink, at brides request. I think it will be so pretty. Stacking on site is a great idea. I thought that was the way to go. I'll be using your 3 piece method. Lol! Thanks again! The bride purchased the rhinestones on eBay...fairly cheap from what I hear. 😃
Hi y'all! I'm making my first BIG wedding cake June 1. The bride brought me a photo of something she spotted on Pinterest. It's a beautiful 5 tiered cake, with lots of bling. However, only 3 of the tiers will actually be cake, the other 2 will be dummy tiers. I've never used a dummy layer before. I'm hoping y'all may have some tips on how to stack this cake and just general tips on the dummy layers. I'll post a pic of the inspiration for the cake I'll be making. The bottom...
Im beyond thrilled to find this post! Thank you for sharing! I'm making the orange dreamsicle cake and I have decided not to use the melted sherbet. So do I need to use another liquid in place of it? Any help is appreciated! Thanks y'all!
I guess I should have said the cake will be fondant covered... Does that make a difference with the ganache?