Posts by kirsty1704

its not thin the consistency and its not thick - its ideal to pipe and doesn't run or anything. (if anything its probably near to thin so i will try adding more icing sugar - thanks)I'm sorry i'm new to this but i don't know what (ABC vs. I/SMBC) is my buttercream is just icing sugar, tad of vanilla & butter.I was using liquid colouring but found it did just this to yesterday bought some paste and its done exactly the same.thanks for your help so far
have been trying to dye my buttercream (red) but am having bother as to why it looks like the dye isn't soaking into the mixture? It is going red but it would seem theres like streaks of dye running right through it giving it a two tone effect.I have mixed and mixed and even got the electric mixer out thinking i'm not mixing it enough but it just doesn't seem to even itself out?Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Aww see how rubbish i am the different US/UK terms really confuse me thanks for that
thanks so much for your help so far guys,... i need to get me some of that sugar paste - i've heard alot but am at the minute just working on basic buttercream and fondant. Sorry if i sound dumb but whats the pros with sugarpaste over fondant? I've read about the fact its thinner than fondant but apart from reading its used on many peoples cakes i thought it maybe best i get some info on it. Does it go hard? I made a sonic cake the other day (still need to upload the...
Hi all - too a lurker if you like but have been reading through this thread for days (infact weeks!) Currently in the process of baking for family and friends and building up a portfolio so this thread has been really good - thanks to all who have contributed so far !I've been doing my research on here, youtube, other sites, ace of cakes, cupcake wars but one thing that i don't 100% understand is how you can use the likes of wires and other objects in cakes that clearly...