Posts by KeLs3784

Hello all,    Have a few questions on a 3 tiered cake I am attempting this coming week (still a newbie here!).    I want to do a whipped cream/raspberry filling because I have gotten rave reviews on it previously. My question is, I know I need to keep the filling refrigerated, but once covered in fondant and then removed from the fridge, the fondant becomes wet once the temperature changes. Is there any way to prevent that or am I totally doing it wrong from the...
i'm also wondering- don't you need to let the cakes cool completely before wrapping? I just froze cakes for the first time last week. Baked 3 layers (6,8,10 sq) on Monday. Decided that I wanted another layer so I baked more on Wed. I froze them all, but the initial layers came out kind of gummy, but i know i didnt let them cool as well as i did the 2nd batch.
i was wondering this myself- would poured chocolate ganache work good as well?
So this is my first time trying the bake-freeze method. My cakes have been frozen since monday night- i just thawed them and they are like soaked, gummy throughout. I double wrapped them in saran, then tinfoil, then a shopping bag. I think i may have not let them cool enough after baking. What do i do? I have the 2nd layer of each tier that froze well, i guess i can just put them on the tops of each tier to kind of mask the wetness of the other layers??
I'm pretty sure "The Mat" that jhay is talking about is from Sweet Wise this mat is a vinyl safe mat that is two sides and allows you to roll the fondant out without using corn starch or powdered sugar (its awesome) - I dont believe karateka is talking about the same thing. Check out youtube "sweet wise"- they have a ton of helpful videos. jhay, i have the same exact problem- i've just been resorting to using my hands as much as i can, then i take a bit of the powdered...