Posts by Rae9

I see these beautiful cakes that have tiers that are at least 6 inches tall or taller and I am just wondering how you would cut and serve these cakes? Would you half the Tier? Would you have double the number of servings when calculating them? Just curious, thanks
This is my first attempt at decorating cookies and everthing was going fine until I made my black royal icing...I had to use a bunch of gel coloring to get a nice black color and now all the icing is dry but the black! Will it Dry??? Should I have done something else? HELP
I am still experimenting with fondant and gumpaste for my figurines I am making and would prefer to use something homemade however I haven't found a recipe that really is working for me. MMF doesn't dry hard so the figurine droops and gumpaste I have had similar problems as the amount of gumpaste for the body portion is larger it is like the outside dries but the inside remains soft letting it droop as well but works awesome for the find detail. I have had good success...
I am going to make my own cake board for a larger wedding cake in a couple of weeks and I was wondering if anyone had any hints of what to use cover it with. Can you use a piece of plywood cut to size and covered with wrapping paper? I will have a covered piece of cardboard under the cake so it wont actually be touching the cake? any advice will be greatly appreciated.
I was just reading about using Non-toxic Chalk Pastels as Petal Dust and was wondering if this was true and if anyone has any experience using it.
I am want to try making Meringue Buttercream but would like to know if you can use it with fondant and how long it can stay at room temperature. Thanks!
I am doing a wedding cake shortly for a wedding that will have about 250 guests. I know not everyone will have cake so how many servings should I plan for?Thanks!!