Posts by bakinhoney1980

You can also get the "Cupcake Creations" liners at Marshalls.  Since it is a discount store, they are sporadic, but they are only about 3.00.
I guess I just don't know what I am doing wrong.  I have done cakes that came out beautifully, but I have also had some that softened and bulged slightly where the buttercream filling seemed to leak out a little.  Sometimes it is the simple things that throw us.  Should I refrigerate the iced cake before putting the fondant covering?  Will it still stick to the fondant after the icing is given time to firm up? 
I have been decorating cakes now for about 2 years and I am constantly learning new things.  Recently I found a post on CC about bulges and problems with fondant caused by the buttercream fillings.  Is it really worth it to make a batch of SMBC?  Is it difficult?  I have 3 children and I know I can whip a batch of buttercream icing up in 5-10 minutes.  If it is worth the effort of making the SMBC, does anyone know a really good recipe to use?  I am doing a free cake this...
Simple question...I was wondering how people out there transport their fondant covered cakes to avoid cracking. The other day I delivered a baby shower cake that was stacked with 2 tiers and the botter tier fondant cracked on the side. I had plenty of decorations to cover up the spot, but is there something that you all use to help "cushion" these cakes against bumps and road issues?
Thanks for all the tips, I do realize that Purple was not a primary color from past Art Classes, but thanks anyway for pointing that out.I guess I have had the idea that you use the toothpick method to keep adding in the coloring. I think I am going to have to adjust this method.Thanks to all of you for the tips.