Posts by jennifercullen

Hi :) I've been in business for a few months now, but have been buying things locally (boxes, boards, fondant etc) and from supermarkets for ingredients. I know some things are cheaper from the supermarket than from the local wholesale place but I wondered where people bought wholesale items like boxes/boards, fondant, chocolate, etc?? I think I need desperately to widen my profit margin!! Thanks :) Jenny
Its called the dinky doodle airbrush, I can't find any reviews on it and I've never used an airbrush before so I don't know what I'm looking for! This is the one: http://www.thecakedecoratingcompany.co.uk/catalog/index.php?cPath=527_528 any opinion would be appreciated thanks!
ChefAngie, I did call round them all. People tend to work out the cost of the ingredients, then double it no matter how long it takes them. I'm already slightly more expensive than some others in the area. Then again I over estimate the ingredients so I'm probably making a bit more than I expect, but still. As i only do it in the evenings, everything seems to take a lot longer. In september my youngest son starts nursery 5 days a week from 9am until 1pm so I think I will...
Jason_kraft; i do them as kind of a labour of love at the moment I took it into business just to earn a bit of extra money in the evenings when my kids are in bed, at first I sort of resented the price I had to charge because of what the area dictated, though I've since discovered other areas can be even lower! I also think I go quite slow if I've not got a lot on so as I get quicker, which I'm noticing I've improved rather a lot as the time has gone on I expect I would...