Posts by hrnewbie

I call myself a caker.  I also tell people that I cake.  They're not real words but they feel good to me.  I'm not a baker, because for decades I said I was a baker, i.e. someone who likes to bake, albeit unprofessionally but with sincere passion, lots of different things that you'd find at your local bakery (cookies, cakes, pastries, breads, etc.).  Then I found cake art and it transformed my life and I've gone from baking lots of different things to a narrow focus on...
So my brother's getting married and I'm in charge of the cake. I've never transported a cake such a long way and I'm a bit nervous. He lives about 9 hours away. I have the fortune of using a commercial kitchen when I get there to ice, assemble, and decorate the 4 tier cake. So I have frozen the individual cakes to take on the drive with me tomorrow. This is stupid but can I just put them in a big Tupperware box and will they be okay? I worry about stacking them on top...
I'm doing my first cake with square tiers and had planned on doing 12", 10", 8", and 6" tiers. But someone told me the other day that they'd recommend doing 4" differences between tiers. Is there a standard for square tier sizing? The cake is king to be iced in SMBC and have a black ribbon. No flowers, etc. on the tiers. Thanks for your help.
Today as I was leaving work I got a call from someone telling me that the company is planning an event next week and they were wondering if I could make cupcakes. 600 cupcakes. With custom fondant toppers shaped like aliens, space ships, planets, etc. In less than a week. While working FT. So they'd talked to the company that runs our cafeterias and weren't happy with what they were going to get for the money and someone had suggested they call me. Completely honored...