Posts by HeatherMari

Some bakeries use premade icing. I know one I used to work for used Rich's Bettercream (like a whipped cream icing) and the Dawn brand icing in buckets.
Hello All!! My husband has a possible job prospect in Charlotte, NC and, just thinking ahead, I was wondering if anyone from that area would have any advice or suggestions for cake decorating jobs in the area. We are currently in Michigan and I will obviously have to find a job there if we end up moving and I love cake decorating. I have been doing it for almost 6 years and am currently working in a bakery part time. Anyone here have their own shop that could use some...
I second the suggestion for using coffee creamer to flavor a white cake. It's awesome! I use 1/4 cup of vanilla caramel liquid creamer in place of some of the water in a white cake and it is so yummy! Some of the less intense flavors like hazelnut I would use the creamer in place of all the liquid otherwise you can't really taste it.You can flavor any premade fondant with flavoring oils or extracts it just takes a lot of kneading and you do have to add powdered sugar to...
Okay, first off, that is such a cute cake! I love Sugar Creations cakes! She is awesome! I would think, IMHO, that those cakes are taller than 4". They do look all the same height but taller than 4". Since the bottom is tapered and it looks like the top is slightly topsy turvy, I would say they are at least 6" tiers. I always make my tapered and topsy cakes taller because otherwise they can look kind of squat. I would email Sugar Creations and ask her how tall they were. I...
Thanks, ironbaker! Yes, that is Denny (Jeffrey Dean Morgan)! He is my new favorite hunk! I fell in love with him on Grey's and recently saw him in "P.S. I Love You" which was an awesome movie and now I like him even more! Plus, he is really easy on the eyes...lol!
Thank you!