Posts by rockinbobbin

There seem to be many different techniques to do this.Here's the scoop - I am going to a dinner party where each couple brings a dish from another part of the world. My country is Morocco. I would also like to bring cookies decorated to look like Moroccan tiles. I was thinking of setting a "frame" around the cookie (on top of the stained glass) to look like a traditional moroccan door/window frame.So......I will most likely use black Royal Icing for the design base. ...
You all just don't know how awesome this forum is! I LOVE it when you get on your soapboxes about an issue you feel strongly about. I can read it, let the info (or opinion) sink in, and then take it or leave it. I can't wait to try some scratch recipies as I've been a box mix baker for family only. I am so ready to try new things and have fun in the kitchen. I wish I could have a master cake-baker/decorator by my side to teach me new tricks, but alas, that will never...
hi Supershifter.....I am pretty new to most of this, too. Everyone here is so helpful. Just keep trying and you'll learn so much!good luck.
I feel so silly asking, but I don't bake cupcakes very often. I would like to try those cute little mini guys, but am not sure I'll make them often enough to justify buying the mini-cupcake pans.Are cupcakes (reg or mini-sized) something that you can bake in the cups only, without the cupcake pans? Or am I just being cheap?
"Tall" would be like this....http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2262717/peony-cakeI am making a graduation cake for my sister, and I want it very simple. I like this look better than the usual 2 layers I've done in the past.I've never baked nice, full cakes - they never quite come to the edge of the pan and dome over nicely. In addition to simply filling them more, I want to try another layer.I will probably use a few dowels and cardboard to separate the layers.thanks for...