Posts by Aimomo26

my favorite is an old family recipe my family calls depression cake because of the lack of dairy they could get during the depression - its a deliciously moist chocolate cake no one will know its vegan (dairy free) I make it all the time1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour1 cup white sugar1/4 cup cocoa powder1 teaspoon baking soda1/2 teaspoon salt1/3 cup vegetable oil (or coconut oil is really good too!)1 teaspoon vanilla extract1 teaspoon distilled white vinegar1 cup water350...
I am a scratch baker - mostly because I bake a lot of vegan cakes. I recently saw a recipe for a "soda" cake, with just standard cake mix and a can of soda. I thought this would be a fun idea but I'm not too familiar with baking from a mix. I'm under the impression that they are often softer and are harder to stack. Has anyone make soda cake and stacked with fondant decorations etc. with success? I'm a little nervous about it - any tips are appreciated. I was planning to...
haha well I see everyone knows as much about this as I do I'm going to try this recipe and I'll let everyone know how it works out!http://www.suzannes-specialties.com/recipes/RicemellowCrispyBars.pdf
I want to make some small baby decorations (rattle, pacifier etc..) for a baby shower cake I'm doing and I thought it would be fun to experiment with rice krispie treats - However I would like to make them vegan since many of the people attending the shower are vegan (marshmellow isn't vegan). I have been able to find a few vegan rice krispie treat recipes but I'm not sure how well they would work in terms of molding. Has anyone had any experience with this?
Thanks for all the help guys -- She does not want to have an anniversary cake - when I asked her she said "ew I won't want to eat that" haha...Thanks for that chart - I'll make some extra cupcakes just in case - but its good to know I should have enough for everyone!