Posts by Shalott

Hmm, I tried adding less powdered sugar this last time -- and added it in very gradually -- only stopping once the stuff was no longer very sticky. Should I just let it stay sticky? I'm getting tired of the stuff I keep coming up with and am considering just giving up altogether!
I'm a hobbyist who uses marshmallow fondant because that's all I can afford. This past week my sister and I were working on a cake for my mother's birthday. Because my sister had a particularly difficult and busy week (moving, working, taking care of her infant), most of the work on the cake fell to myself. My sister had a little bit of leftover fondant from a cake she'd made recently so she gave it to me. I also had a little bit of leftover fondant, but whereas her...
So sorry to hear about this! Your family is in my prayers. I don't see how anyone could fail to understand.
Steplite, thanks so much for sharing Karen's Kitchen website with us! I just made the yellow cake recipe and it's delicious! One website I'm fond of is www.bakingbites.com -- it's actually a blog with some fantastic recipes!
This is what I use. It comes out super-moist:Original Recipe Yield 1 - 9x13 inch or 2 - 9 inch round pans Ingredients * 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour * 2 cups white sugar * 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder * 2 teaspoons baking soda * 1 teaspoon baking powder * 1 teaspoon salt * 2 eggs * 1 cup strong brewed coffee * 1 cup buttermilk * 1/2 cup vegetable oil * 1 teaspoon vanilla extractDirections 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees...
I thought I should add: There's a good possibility that the post-birth shower practice probably dates back to concern that the baby wouldn't make it.