Posts by teaparty

Indydeb: in all fairness I think my client/friend would have paid more had she any idea what she was getting and had I asked because she was truly amazed by the cake. After the party she said I seriously needed to increase my prices because she had a friend who insisted that she must have paid $100 for the cake (she wouldn't tell her friend how much she paid because I asked her not to).I sympathize with all newbies like myself, because it is difficult to figure out how...
I just recently did a cake and added up just the packaging and support materials and it came to about $17 for the drum, cake boards and cake box. Well I only charged $50 and after figuring out the cost of 2 recipes of cake, 2 recipes of MMF and 2 1/2 recipes of buttercream, I didn't make a darn thing for my time let alone profit. I call these instances my "learning promotion" because I'm new at this and learning as I go too. It's the Cinderell doll cake that I just...
Thanks Tesso, I've made my fondant dk violet so far using Wilton's gel colour (don't have Americolor). Haven't added the black yet, but from looking at it I think I may need just a touch of red.Question about Americolor: is it gel or liquid?
Use the Hershey's Collector's Cocoa Cake recipe found here. It's nice and moist and firm and the poster said it was good for carving.
I double wrap in plastic wrap and then put them in a freezer bag with as much air taken out as possible. I also put them on a cake board after they are wrapped in plastic before I put them in the freezer bag so they don't get misshaped before they manage to freeze. I did this for my cousins wedding cake where the wedding was in Mexico, but the reception was here at home and I only had a couple of days to get the cake decorated. It worked really well.I wouldn't fill or...