Posts by jenmat

I guess I have a different take on whether to take the order. As a small business owner, I have the responsibility to protect my business. Almost like protecting my child from those who might hurt her, if warning bells go off, I need to respond. There is a reason I no longer work at a large business that needs to take every client. By not taking this order you are possibly loosing money. But he has already expressed the ability he has to get money back from a...
Don't answer her anymore. Simple as that. You are letting her continue to control you by answering her. You said no. It doesn't matter why, you said no and as we all know "no means NO."   I agree that sometimes difficult and exacting customers can turn into your biggest cheerleaders. But this customer isn't just exacting. She was RUDE in her initial contact and tried to haggle even when boundaries were clearly set. Those are the issues, not the color or design (although...
Thanks for the suggestions. I have the clixstix saved as a favorite on Amazon. Hoping to find some other types too. 
Her emergency is not your problem. So will she be emailing you? Phone call? Text? "I am so sorry, but at this point it is simply too late to complete any order. I know it probably puts you in a bind, and I'm sorry to have to do that to you and the grandkids, but I hope that maybe next time we can make it happen!"
Vetting your customers, especially large order customers is part of this business. It's my responsibility to protect my business from people who could damage it. My cakes, for the majority of circumstances, go to customers who will treat them (and me!) politely and appreciatively. I always approach an email or phone call with a professional, but SLIGHTLY aloof manner which I hope conveys that I while I want their business, I don't NEED their business. That way it is easier...