Posts by ChocolateCraftKits

Chocolate Craft Kits http://www.chocolatecraftkits.com/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=72
Hi !   I have been making and selling modeling chocolate since 1991 TO MAKE MODELING CHOCOLATE SHINY: after you roll out the modeling chocolate warm it to bring out the oils.  The oil or cocoa butter is what will make it shine - you can use the bottom of your palm and make a circular motion to "rub" the chocolate sheet before cutting or shaping.  If you are making figures, begin with a simple shape that is warm on the outside as well.   Modeling chocolate can...
warm it just a little in the microwave at half power, a few seconds at a time.  When it is pliable work in a little corn syrup or water, just a little at a time until it is the consistency you want. Where did you purchase the modeling chocolate?  
HiThe dark glaze is a type of ganache coating used by professionals when more stability is needed. It is used the same way that ganache is used, to coat pastries.
Hi thereIt's Peggy from Chocolate Craft Studio. In my experience, the issue would be moisture. Most recipes for ganache are very sensitive to moisture - are you refrigerating the cake? Do you live in a humid area? Will the cake go through temperature changes? This would cause decorations to slide and slip off the sides as the ganache will move, possibly separate.There is a recipe we use in competition for ganache that has gelatin in it to improve the stability and...
Shamelessly promoting my website- you can buy precolored modeling chocolate at chocolatecraftkits.com; Charm City Cakes is one of my customers (they purchase the white in bulk quantities and color it as they use it).RegardsPeggy Alterpeggy@chocolatecraftkits.com