Posts by NoNameinNM

I'm an instructor who happens to be left-handed (although very ambidextrous so I can manage both left- and right-handed piping equally well).The Wilton practice sheets and books are definitely very good at giving directions for both left- and right-handed decorators, so those can be a good start.When writing in cursive on cakes I find it easiest to tilt the cake so that the upper left corner is much higher than the upper right corner (same tilt applies to round cakes, but...
Oops... forgot to add: when I want a shade like that, I often find myself using more yellow than green.Jamey
With the Wilton colors, you'll probably want to use Lemon Yellow and Leaf Green or Kelly Green.Tint the icing a pale yellow shade-- a pastel yellow. Then add the Leaf Green or Kelly Green until you are close to reaching the depth of color you want.At that point, if you want to tweak it to more of a chartreuse color, you can add more of the yellow. Otherwise, continue deepening it with the green.Hope that helps!Jamey
I've been on cake central for at least two and one-half years, and on yummy arts for about a year.I love them both, and can't imagine not having access to both! Both offer the all important photo galleries and forums that have saved so many of us in a pinch whether we needed instructions or inspiration.The downside with yummy arts, of course, is the monthly membership fee. If you learn better through watching someone show you a technique than through books and pictures,...
Yep, I'm an instructor! I love it! LOL-- Clowns scare a LOT of people, and I've seen some pretty creative solutions. One of my favorites was when a student bought 2 dozen Santa Claus Pez dispensers, took the heads off and used them instead of the clown heads.