Posts by etr2002

This question is asked a lot on the board and unfortunatley, sometimes it also causes claws to come out for some people especially when the questions come-up about are whether you are licensed or bake out of your home. I would suggest that you do a search on this topic because some posters have previously provided quite a bit of information on what you should consider such as not only your ingredients but your electricity, water, etc. Also, without any specifics about...
Thanks everyone. I will also be sure to try the recipe!
I've never tried ganache before, so these questions may seem elementary to many of you. When I bake my cake, don't I ice it then apply ganache and then cover it in fondant (if I'm using fondant anyway). Does a cake with ganache have to be refrigerated? I'm assuming that if it's refrigerated that I should bring it back to room temp before serving. There are tons of ganache recipes on this board, so which is your favorite? Any help is appreciated!
I'm fortunate in that I have good storage space, so I use stackable screw bin that has individual drawers for each tip. I labeled the outside of the drawer with the tip #, so they are very easy to find and keep organized.http://www.bins-online.com/akro-mils-plastic-storage-cabinet.htm
I was exhausted just reading your post! When I got to the part about the plastic 8" knife, I had to laugh out loud! Glad you survived!
Last summer, I made a 3d firetruck for a friend's groom's cake and part of the fondant accents slipped right off the cake. Unbeknownst to me, there was no air conditioning in the reception area and it was over 100 outside, so you can only imagine how hot it was inside and there was no where to keep the cake cool. The wedding party got to the reception over 2 hours late, so there was nothing that could be done to salvage the cake after exposure to extreme heat. I was...
Thanks for all the tips!