Posts by pidge

I was going to suggest something related to Murphy's Law ... but I don't think you'd get much business! lol.
I still ask my mom for business advice. lol. And I've been doing this for 12 years! So, I think that asking for a list was a good idea. Us creative types DO need help with organization. We also need to foot the responsibility for our bussiness ... but that's NOT what you were asking. I always forget a very IMPORTANT question during consultations -- How much time do you have scuduled for this meeting? Sometimes I get to designing with the Bride, and take up way too...
I know it's different everywhere, but do you already charge $2.50 for an undecorated cupcake? What do you charge per serving for a normal decorated cake? I think that the price would then be comparable to that.
I am in the process of starting up an online store, and all my "ducks are in a row" except the shipping method for shipping fondnat flowers and decorations.I had read that I should put each individual flower in a small ziplock bag and then pad it with tissue paper, but I'm planning on doing really small decorations -- and that seem overkill. Then again, not separating them sounds dangerous too. If any one has any experience with this, I'd really appreaciate any advice. ...
I just asked the owner of a coffee shop ... she has so much extra space, she was glad to talk to me! So, just ask. {And if you can, maybe ask someone who you know a little, or a shop you visit already.}
A friend just called me and she baked a cake in a 8-cup measuring cup {to make a teapot cake}. She said the cake looked done but when she pulled it out of the oven it cracked open and batter was coming out. I've never made a cake in that shape of pan {glass, 8cup}. I suggested a flower nail in the base and dropping the temp to 325.Any other suggestions???