Posts by Newbieone

A minion cupcake is perfect! But no, I wasn't going to let the kids do anything, just watch.  The school is strict and probably wouldn't let me do anything like that anyway.   I was just going to sit in the front and tell them about my craft. :)
I'm not a professional cake decorator, but I would love to participate in career day at my son's elementary school because I think it could be fun for them and myself. :)  I've never been able to because my old day job was boring and no one want to hear about it. They have added the word "talent" to the application form, so I figure I can do that!     I have made some mighty cool cakes in my time, but I wondered if any of you knew of any of your WOW cakes that take...
I skipped out of decorating for a while, and I am back and trying to make my son his ganache cake, but I wanted a better recipe.  Where did the ratings go on the recipes? I don't want some nasty recipe that no one likes.....I don't touch regular recipes anymore without a good rating (because I'm not a good cook)---- are the reviews and ratings on CC recipes gone?  Do I need to go to Allrecipes now? I did search for about 15 minutes and some others were wondering but no...
Would you use ganache on a kids cake?  I'm making my 9 y.o. son's Captain Rex Helmet tomorrow, and I was thinking I would like chocolate frosting, and then I was thinking to do something that tastes different I should do ganache under the fondant.   However, I have never done it on a cake before (only made ganache for truffles), and wondered if the chocolate would be too strong for the kids/babies?   Then i was thinking I could do milk chocolate instead of semisweet,...
Nancy--one last question on the treats---did you 1 for 1 replace the butter with the candy melts? That is a great idea to use the melts in them, btw.