Posts by Sassy74

Hello, all.  I've searched and haven't found specific threads addressing my need, so I'm hopeful someone can help pint me in the right direction.   I'll be making several fondant figures to replicate college band members, and I would love to know if there are any tips or tutorials for dressing fondant figures that are already made, but nekkid :).   I bought figure molds (like these...
My husband is incredibly supportive.  12 years ago, I left a career I loved, that was very challenging and rewarding, to be a SAHM and homeschool our two fantastic kids.  It's challenging and rewarding in different ways, but being a caker has been a wonderful outlet for me.  I'm a hobby baker, so it's not an overwhelming commitment but when I do a wedding cake or big celebration cake, I'm sucked into a cake vortex for days lol.  He has never, ever complained about the...
Mmmmmm, Drusilla Seafood!
Oh Lawd, piping is another of my pet peeves.  I avoid it if at all possible.  I've invested in several sets of Tappits, letter cutters, ANYTHING to keep me from having to pipe something on a cake or board lol.
You prolly have, but have you checked out Edna's rose tute on YouTube?  Also, this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYkPhb-_gDg was REALLY helpful.  Haven't seen Mr Lodge's rose tute, but I did buy his Classic class and it was a-MAY-zing.  I don't feel like my roses are particularly realistic looking, but they def improved after a ton of trial/error and YouTube vids :).
I feel like I've improved as a caker so much in the last couple of years.  Thanks to CC, YouTube, Pinterest, and dvd's (Sugarshack!), I feel way more confident and competent.  But I know that no matter how accomplished I may feel in certain areas, there will always be others where I feel so intimidated and clueless.  There are skills that I don't have that I don't necessarily want to perfect.  For example, my figure modeling is pretty lame, but I'm not terribly worried...