Posts by Beecharmer

I made ganache for the first time. Used 1 1/2 cups cream, 3 Tbs. butter, 3 Tbs. sugar and 12 oz. chocolate.It is very runny. Is it supposed to be this way? I let it cool for about 15 minutes and it felt ok to the touch. I had to put it on with a brush. Is this normal?[/b]
THANKS!! I may pipe a filling in each cake. I've never done that before.
Would it be terrible if I didn't do two layers? Just a thicker cake layer? I'm really looking to save time. Does anyone know if I should ice the cake first? It said to in the Wilton yearbook I have.
Actually, I was going to bake a sheet cake and cut it into 3" pieces. Would I have to ice it, then pour ganache to make it look smooth?
We are having a surprise 40th birthday party for my sister. I dont' have time to do a cute decorated cake. I was thinking about making small individual cakes and covering them with ganache, then ruffles on top with a chocolate 40 stuck in. I've never made ganache before. Do I just make it and pour it over the cakes? Will it look smooth and shiny?
I made a baby cake (you can see in my photos) and colored some of the icing and swirled it. It turned out real pretty.
Thanks. Before I posted this question I did some research. One of the members said she freezes the outline, then fills in. It keeps the outline from smearing. After I got all the lines done last night, I was ready to quit anyway. So, will try to finish it tonight. Will post when done.
I've made several FBCT's, but I have one to do that is pretty detailed. Can some of you experts give me some advice? Any secret to the fine details?
I looked at your photos. I love the squirrel. How do you do the hair? Where did you learn to do the detail to the clothes? Any books you would reccommend?