Posts by LaurelC

Denise, what brand are the markers you have?
You can make one.  Here's a tutorial: http://www.lilaloa.com/2012/11/make-your-own-white-food-color-marker.html
I'm not a professional baker.  I just decorate cakes and cupcakes (and cookies, for that matter) when my kids, grandkids, and their friends ask me to.  Because of that, I don't make buttercream often.  I try to "review" my own recipe every time I make it by making comments on the recipe itself.   I don't know why my recipe started getting loose, but the last couple of times I've made it, it was too loose.  Same recipe every time.  I've tried using 1/2 hi-ratio and...
BakingIrene, recipes DO stop working when conditions are different and the ingredients change - like Crisco going to 0 trans-fats.  My buttercream was too loosey-goosey.  I bought some Parade Vegetable shortening, which has 3g trans-fat/serving so I'll try that.....and yes, I've tried hi-ratio shortening.   My recipe is:   2 cups Crisco (2 ½ cups in warm weather) 2 sticks (1 cup) Blue Bonnet margarine (1 stick/ ½ cup in warm weather) – Must be Blue Bonnet...
I need a new buttercream recipe.  Mine doesn't work for me anymore.  Can anybody recommend a crusting buttercream recipe that isn't greasy, holds up well, and tastes good?   Thanks for your help, Laurel
Thanks for your replies. I'm doing the cake today. I made MMF and added tylose for the monogram. I made it yesterday so that it would dry, so I used BOTH your suggestions. Debbye27, I'm making the milk bottles, the circles, and the 1's with cookie cutters. I wrote the baker of the cake in the first cake and she finally got back to me. The fondant was 1/4" thick.Thanks again! I gotta get back in the kitchen!Laurel
OK, I went out and bought another brand of sugar and everything turned out well. I must've just gotten a bad batch of sugar, because I've used this brand before (Parade). I won't be using it again, though! LOL!Thanks again for your help.Laurel