Posts by Silver044

This really is the age old questions. Scratch or mix. I too had problems with this. I graduated from culinary school and thought I HAD to make everything from scratch. I have been making all of my wedding cakes from scratch and only charging $2.50 a slice. I think I lost money. Now, my standard cake price is a mix and my signature cakes start at $4.25 a slice. I prefer the mix because it takes so much less time to bake an I can spend the rest of my time decorating.
Yes, I know these cakes are really not the best subject in the world and very tacky. I had a very bitter divorce because he was bi-polar. My family had a small party for me. I wish I could have had a speaker(yes like a radio) made. That is a very long story but I don't think I would of had these cakes. But, I guess if you are in it for money.....It is funny how things really do happen for a reason. I am now re-married with 3 beautiful children went back to culinary school...
Oh man are they funny!!! Wish I would have thought about this 7 year ago when I got divorced.(Boy, I hope he is dead. He was bipolar...kind of bitter.)
For the first time you really did do a great job. I am sure everyone loved it. Don't be so hard on yourself!
Yes. I will usually make RI or BC flower(up to 20) for the cost of the cake but fondant/gumpaste flower are very time consuming and I will charge a premium price for them.
I charge $2.50 a slice but anything with handmade flowers I charge $5.50 a slice starting out. Heck yeah! Charge for them.
Wohooo! Way to go! Keep up the good work.We will need to support each other here. I just had my first one in August. My 2nd cake was on Labor Day for 500!! That was a crazy week! LOL.Keep us posted on upcoming events.Allison