Posts by laneysmom

Love, love, love MBCs!!!! I've made both IMBC and SMBC and find the SMBC easier. In hot weather, I use it as filling and still use ABC for covering and decorating. MBCs are just delicious!!!!!
I bought a can of red because I didn't have time to order any. I didn't find it to be hard or crumbly at all. Quite the opposite. I dread what would've happened if I had microwaved it! I'm certain it would have liquified. I found the texture to be greasy and it smelled kind of like play-doh. At 19.99 for a 2-lb container, I was disappointed to say the least. In defense, I should sat that I was using it during a heatwave with 110% humidity, but the Satin Ice didn't...
Everybody has to start somewhere. Frankly, I give her credit for wanting to make the effort.
Weird to find this thread after I just had the exact same experience. Mind you, I have been using Satin Ice for a few years and have never had a problem--'til this weekend. I had a horrible time! Cracking, tearing, too thick, too thin! No matter what I did, nothing worked. I felt like I had never worked with fondant before. Never was I so happy to be a hobby baker instead of a pro. If I was getting paid for that cake, I don't know what I would have done!And I had...
There is a big difference between Italian meringue buttercream (IMBC) and the crusting decorator-type BC. Italian and Swiss meringue BCs start with a cooked syrup and egg whites (the method is different between the 2, but the concept is similar) to which butter is added, as opposed to using shortening and powdered sugar. To make chocolate Italian meringue BC, you make the IMBC, ans add melted, cooled chocolate to taste.Hope that helps!
Love Toba Garrett! Also, the International School of S ugar craft series by Nicholas Lodge is wonderful!