Posts by allissweets

Well after reading several posts on here I suspect it is the PS I used. I bought two new bags, and tried two batches of BC icing (one with each bag) and BOTH came out gritty. This is the Sam's Club PS that I've been using for years. I've found it to be better than Domino's, but I guess I had to get my hands on a bad batch eventually. Oh well, good thing this cake is for my son's birthday - I'm not making a third batch, and it still tastes good, so we'll just have to...
Did you ever find a solution to your problem? I've just had the same thing occur - gritty BC icing. I've been decorating cakes for 5 years and have never had this happen. All new/fresh ingredients, just can't figure out why my icing is gritty!!!Can anyone offer suggestions? Thanks!
When y'all use the steam setting on your iron, does the fondant piece remain shiny? I saw a post on here that said it gives them shine when using steam...also saw this technique on cake boss, so I wanted to give it a try. Tried steaming some little fondant balls, but the shine went away after several minutes. Am I missing a step?
GenGen - I got this idea from one of tonedna's whimsical cakes. I just used a circle cut-out, and pinched one end to make each petal, and "glued" them on the cake with water and a brush!
Hee hee - that's because you can't see the BACK of the cake. I went out of my way to make sure the last part of my fondant covering was on the back of the cakes - it's awful! But the birthday girl loved it and didn't see the flaws, so that's all that matters.