Enhancing A Chocolate Cake

Baking By drea88 Updated 3 Sep 2014 , 3:18am by MBalaska

drea88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
drea88 Posted 28 Jul 2014 , 4:54am
post #1 of 12

I'm a hobby baker and I would like to get some feedback to improve my caking skills.  To that end, I am thinking about entering the Gerry Frank chocolate cake competition at the Oregon State Fair.  The sole judge, Gerry Frank (who owns a gourmet cake shop), has tasted over 2,400 cakes in the 54 years he has judged the contest.  While my friends and family give good reviews to my favorite chocolate cake recipe, I have my doubts that the cake will stand out when placed up against over a hundred other made-from-scratch chocolate cakes.  Does anyone have suggestions on what I could add to my cake to make it stand out?  Below are the ingredients I use (adapted from Sally's Baking Addiction):

1 and 3/4 cups (220 grams) all-purpose flour

1 and 3/4 cups (350 grams) granulated sugar

3/4 cup (95 grams) natural cocoa powder (not dutch-processed) (I use Scharffen Berger)

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup (240 ml) buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil (I have also used hazelnut oil)

2 large eggs at room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I have also used hazelnut extract)

1 cup hot water

I don't bake with coffee for religious reasons, so using coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor is out.  Gerry Frank has a preference for "deeply chocolate, moist, visually appealing cakes."  The entries are judged on appearance, texture and flavor and can't contain mixes of any kind.  Thanks!

11 replies
MKC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MKC Posted 28 Jul 2014 , 11:37am
post #2 of 12

AYou could use some chocolate extract.

Maybe you cannot use alcohol, but sometimes I replace the water for chocolate stout (beer).

I have also read some posts of people adding chocolate syrup on top of their cake after baking.

FrostedMoon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile