Should I Get An Assistant?

Business By sweetchariot Updated 29 Jul 2014 , 12:31am by -K8memphis

sweetchariot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetchariot Posted 27 Jul 2014 , 6:05am
post #1 of 17

Hi all!

I have been doing this cake thing for about two years and have recently turned it into an at-home business (going on six months now). We are doing great, but I am at that point where an intricate cake is almost more than I can handle alone. I keep staying up multiple nights until 4, 5, 6 am and am just having a hard time justifying this. I am a stay-at-home mom and I like to think that I work fast, but I am finding it hard to get some bigger orders/more detailed orders done. Also, pricing is just crazy! I am spending soooo many hours on cakes but just can't charge per hour otherwise it would be like buying a house! jk, but seriously...

When did you call in an "apprentice/partner" whatever?? I am committing to 4-5 cakes a month (almost all are largish orders) and I can't afford a partner doing only this many, so I need more cakes to hire someone, but I can't do more cakes unless I hire someone...

HELP! Thank you!!!

16 replies
nannycook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nannycook Posted 27 Jul 2014 , 6:31am
post #2 of 17

ASweetchariot, when you say large orders, how large do you mean, personally I wont let anyone touch my cakes unless they were experienced, I make 2 cakes a weekly, have made 7 in a week only once though, and I work also.

Could you possibly afford to take on an experienced decorater?

sweetchariot Posted 27 Jul 2014 , 7:09am
post #3 of 17

I guess to me they are large. but honestly I don't know what a normal amount of time to spend on a cake is. Maybe the real question is HOW long do y'all spend working on these things??? I know I need to charge more already, I get that.