Fondant Cake Collapse

Decorating By Lunita13 Updated 11 Jul 2014 , 4:04pm by cai0311

Lunita13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lunita13 Posted 7 Jul 2014 , 5:33am
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone, 

I'm an amateur baker (very amateur) and right now just make cakes for the parties and gatherings of my family and friends. I attempted to make a flower pot cake for my niece's one-year birthday today. Everything was going well, in fact, after I had the cake covered in fondant I was thinking it would be my best yet. And then...it collapsed. It started t0 bulge. We put something on the side to help prop it up but on the car ride to my sister's house, one whole side completely fell apart. The poor cake had to be put into a bowl.

The cake was a chocolate buttermilk cake (the kind with oil and coffee in it) and consisted of one 8" stacked on top of two 6" cakes, with cardboard in between the 8" and the 6" inch layers. However, there were no dowels in the 6" layers. I carved the cake into a pot shape with crusting buttercream in between the layers, but I didn't torte them. Then the whole thing was iced with buttercream and covered in MF fondant with a fondant lip around the top edge of the pot. I had rolled fondant roses on plastic skewers and fondant leaves that went into the top of the cake. I realized I didn't really have enough roses so I re-arranged them quite a bit trying to get the best coverage, which did a lot of damage to the top of the cake. 

I think the following things caused problems but I'd like opinions on whether any one thing I did was the culprit, or if it was just a culmination of many little things:

1. Buttermilk cake not dense enough to stack and carve (I love the taste of this cake but it is oil-based)

2. No dowels

3. Messing up the cake with the long skewers and re-arranging the flowers so many times