Wedding Cake Tasting Help!

Business By BEsweetcakes Updated 21 Aug 2014 , 4:01pm by klan30

BEsweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BEsweetcakes Posted 27 Jun 2014 , 4:28pm
post #1 of 13

Hi everyone! 

quick side history... I have been doing cakes off and on for many years at home and bakeries, I because a Wilton Method Instructor to earn some extra money and then my home cake business started taking off. Thanks to new Texas laws I actually can make cakes from home without worry. I am still VERY small, taking a couple of orders a month. I have been approached to do a wedding cake (something I wasn't sure I wanted to mess with due to stress!)

This lady asked for a tasting and I said "yeah OK sure!" before doing any research, so here I am stuck doing a most likely free tasting (since I never mentioned cost) with three kinds of cake and icing.

SO here is my problem ha!..... I have only recently gotten into scratch baking. Depending on time or funds I either use box mix (amped up with extra egg, olive oil, etc) or a scratch cake if time has allowed and I trust the recipe. 

I have not done the cakes (accept one) from scratch before, so two would be box and one would be scratch. Is this something I shouldn't do? should they all be from scratch? I really don't have time if a recipe fails to fix it. or the funds since this is free. 

My concern is the questions about recipes and things like that. 

thanks for your time!!

12 replies
pj22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pj22 Posted 6 Jul 2014 , 4:09pm
post #2 of 13

It really depends on what flavors you offer. I use box for some flavors and scratch for some flavors. You don't have to disclose what is from scratch and what is from box... hardly any clients even bother asking.

Just make the 3 flavors you plan on making, and add the cost of the tasting to the price of the cake order when you quote her the final price. Be sure to take a deposit to hold the date as well! Good luck!