Disaster From The Start; A Take Of Four Cakes

Decorating By Rae-Anne Updated 2 Jul 2014 , 3:46pm by Betsycakez

Rae-Anne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rae-Anne Posted 22 Jun 2014 , 12:12pm
post #1 of 4

ASo I'm pretty new in the cake business and was contracted to to my second wedding cake (from scratch, the first I only had to decorate). As I usually do, I planned every detail months in advance and purchased all items needed which I received 2 days before the wedding (I live in the Caribbean).

First headache. The cake was to be four tiers of teal and white fondant covered cakes. When I baked the cakes, I realized the 12 inch and 10 inch pan were very close in size ad I still can't understand what caused this as I double checked the pan sizes. But I could not do anything about that, so I left them as is.

Second headache. Where I live to where the reception was to take place was about half an hour distance laced with horrid roads with winding corners. So transportation was hell to deliver a tired cake.

Third headache. All these things were minuscule I comparison to the final headache. In the high heat of the Caribbean, my strawberry buttercream, under the white layered fondant began to melt.

Just let that soak in for a minute.

Melting pink buttercream under your white fondant.

Needless to say I was petrified and all attempts to save the tier proved futile. In the end I had to remove the tier altogether and make the four tiered cake a now three tiered one.

Worst. Day. Ever.

But the cake was still loved, and that's somewhat of a consolation.[IMG ALT=""]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3253218/width/350/height/700[/IMG] [IMG ALT=""]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3253219/width/350/height/700[/IMG]

3 replies
princesscris Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
princesscris Posted 27 Jun 2014 , 6:11am
post #2 of 4