Has Anyone Used Fondarific Or Duff's Fondant To Decorate Sugar Cookies?

Baking By Sugar_Plum_Fairy Updated 14 Jul 2014 , 9:55pm by millicente

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 21 May 2014 , 6:24pm
post #1 of 11

I'm thinking about trying to decorate sugar cookies with Fondarific or Duff's fondant since I've heard they taste really good and I like the color, but I've never done it before (I've used MMF and Satin Ice with good results).  I was wondering how well this/these brands would work since I know they're a lot softer than SI.  Also, if anyone's used Fond./Duff's, does it dry to a harder finish like most fondants?  Finally, has anyone frozen cookies with Fond./Duff's on them?

Thanks.

10 replies
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 22 May 2014 , 12:27am
post #2 of 11

Never mind.  I did a ton of research online and dug around for my notes from when I used a few different types of fondants in the past and decided to just go with Choco-pan.

MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 22 May 2014 , 1:03am
post #3 of 11

I know they look beautiful, but no one here likes the taste of fondant on cookies. 

I made these one time, and I was so proud of how pretty they were.........

Rolled cut out Butter Cookies, Fondant tops, stencils with royal icing

and along with this batch of time consuming Royal Icing stenciled - Satin Ice fondant cut outs, I sent some simple cookies with a quick corn syrup glaze slapped on the cookie and sprinkles for the kids.       Shock of Shocks

No one - child or adult - wanted these snowflake ones because they didn't taste good. However they loved and praised the simple ones. (even the richest people at the party).   Go figure.  So now even when I do a stencil I make a Royal Icing base.

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 23 May 2014 , 1:06pm
post #4 of 11