For Those Who Own A Bakery And Have Employees

Business By TheItalianBaker Updated 11 Apr 2014 , 10:43pm by -K8memphis

TheItalianBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheItalianBaker Posted 10 Apr 2014 , 10:41pm
post #1 of 15

AHey! So that's my thought: I work as pastry chef in a bakery (I bake, decorate, work with fondant, talk to customers, bring my own recipes..) and they don't pay me enough for everything I do, ($12/h). Sometimes I also go to get supplies myself because they are "too busy".. I buy and use my own tools, molds and everything I might need for fondant (they don't have anything, only 2 molds, seriously). I also work in a restaurant as well, pastry chef but they pay me way better.

At this point I was thinking to start my home based bakery, legally of course, and do it on the side. But I'm worried about my employer, she could fire me as my small business it's a competitor.. I also have to say she is a drama queen..

So for those who have a bakery, what would you feel, think and do if one of your employees made cakes on his own after work? I thought to start "in secret" but not having my phone number and my name on my business card is just weird..

Advices please!

14 replies
howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 10 Apr 2014 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 15

I'm pretty sure the drama queen will fire you if she finds out. This is a conflict of interest. I don't have employees yet, but my cakes are the sole source of income for my household. If I hired someone and found out they were caking on the side, how could I even consider keeping them? Also, they'd probably be undercutting me.